What Our Customers Say

It is great to hear from you about your experience at The Indian Café. We have a guestbook in the restaurant that we would love you to sign, or you can leave a message for the team here. This is our brand-new website (July 2017!) So we have copied a few recent comments from TripAdvisor to get things started here...


Comments: 6
  • #6

    Jennie McFarlane (Friday, 16 July 2021 01:54)

    Hi there,
    I’m a big fan of the Indian Cafe, but tonight 2 of our 3 takeaways were none too flash and even the rice was pretty suspect (it came in blocks, hopefully not reheated). The Goan fish was perfect but the lamb korma and chicken jalfrezi were a long way off your best (the jalfrezi was pretty sour). Just thought you should know �

  • #5

    Terry & Gaye (Sunday, 13 June 2021 01:36)

    The best Indian food in Nelson. We have been regular customers before the Richmond and Stoke restaurants opened. It’s great to have the same quality food and service in Stoke.

    Thanks so much for such great tasty meals.

    We highly recommend this Indian Restaurant.

  • #4

    Maria Cawdron (Saturday, 27 March 2021 17:46)


    Hubby and I went to the Indian Cafe Stoke Nelson the other night
    Awesome Service. Awesome Meal, Awesome price
    Takeaways seem be very popular as well. Well worth checking out.

    Nice one Guys see you again soon

  • #3

    Jody Pierce (Tuesday, 09 June 2020 22:20)

    Went to Stoke Indian Cafe last night 09/ 06/ 2020. Seven of us, super service and food. We were very loud, sorry, not been out in a while, hahaha, thank you , will come again.

  • #2

    maggie (Saturday, 07 July 2018 01:01)

    the best !!!!great service great food i have been going regularly since it opened what i love the most apart from the food is how the quality is always consistant you know its going to be the same and when you love the taste of their food as much as i do, i believe consistancy is really up there. I know i and my family/friends will never tire of the indian cafe its a constant in our lives.

  • #1

    andie (Sunday, 17 December 2017 23:26)

    wow never fails to amaze. absolute best indian food,stunning! thank you so much for being here. both resturants food is exellent

“Friendly, personalized service ensures we always have a fantastic evening!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The homely setting, warm & friendly atmosphere has us returning time & again. From the kitchen through to the front of house, service is personal, prompt & attentive. The food is just the best Indian this side of India & affordable!! Love the diverse crowd, from suits to young families. Great value!


“As close to eating in India as you can get.”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been lucky enough to travel the world! I spend a few months in India in 2016 and for a man that loves Indian food, it's hard to find any restaurant outside of India that passes the taste test. Upon arriving in Nelson I stumbled across The Indian Cafe and I can honestly say this is as close as you're going to get to eating Indian food outside of India. By far the best food I have had in 2017.